While User Roles in Cascade article covers granting access to global features (e.g. billing, flexible strategy model, and user management), here you'll find details on how to manage view, edit, and delete permissions for plans, dashboards, and reports.
We're providing a broader approach for permissions so as to keep all the permissions granularity at the plans, dashboard, and report level! By default:
- All plans, dashboards, and reports are open: anyone in the workspace can view and edit.
- Users with Admin role will have view and edit access to all the plans, dashboards and reports. Even if they're assigned only a view access, being an admin, they'll automatically inherit the edit access!
- Those with Viewer role will only have view access to the plans, dashboards or reports that they're assigned to! Being a viewer, they'll automatically inherit the view access, and the platform does not allow to give them edit access to any functionalities!
- All collaborators in a plan can view and edit, irrespective of their roles (Viewers cannot edit though!)
However, with dashboards and reports, since there's no concept of owners or collaborators, the person who creates them, and the users with Admin roles can manually give permissions to the users in their workspace!
Accountability and Permissions
- Users who're accountable i.e., users who're owners and collaborators on objectives/measures/projects/actions within a plan will have view and edit access.
- Users who're accountable for dashboards and reports i.e., users who're owners of the dashboards or reports will have view and edit access.
- If a user is accountable and they have a role of contributor, manager or admin, they automatically inherit edit access on the plan.
- If a user is accountable and they have role of a Viewer, they automatically inherit view access on the plan. But note that you cannot give them edit access to any functionality!
- If a user is no longer accountable (that is they are no longer an owner or collaborator on any objectives/measures/projects/actions within the plan), they'll no longer have default view and edit access to the plan. They'll have to be explicitly added as an editor/viewer on the plan.
How to assign permissions?
You can assign permissions to a plan, dashboard, and report in your workspace! By default, Admin roles have an overriding access level, and inherit edit access!
Click Share in the relevant plan, dashboard, or report to open up the share modal. You can set the permissions at the
- workspace level, i.e.,
- Public access - setting up either "can edit" or "can view" for all the members of the workspace,
- Private access - setting up "no access" to maintain absolute privacy. For example, the plan, or dashboard has sensitive company information, or is still in draft stage, which need not be exposed to everyone.
- or at an individual user's level, i.e.,
- owners and collaborators of a plan inherit default edit access,
- owners of dashboards and reports inherit default edit access,
- viewers get default view access, while admins get default edit access,
- or, invite relevant users, and manually assign them view or edit permissions!
By default, when a plan, dashboard or report is created, it is set up as "public", i.e., it provides "edit access" to everyone in the workspace! Now, you can still invite users to share them to "increase engagement".
You can start giving access to other users by typing in their names or mail ids, and giving them access as "can view", or "can edit", and click Share. These persons will be notified! You can also revoke someone's access by clicking remove from the access drop-down!
Check out the articles Plan Permissions, Dashboard Permissions and Report Permissions to understand the granularity of permissions available for plans, dashboards and reports!
What happens once the trial period is over?
Once the trial period is over, or when you're no more on a free tier, it'll unlock the existing role based permissions that can be controlled from Admin > Users.
However, permissions are behind paywalls! Any access that you've granted during the trial will be retained, but cannot be changed unless you upgrade! i.e., even if you're an Admin, you'll not be able to grant/change permissions on a plan or dashboard or report if your free trial is over, and you're yet to upgrade!
Can a Viewer be assigned ownership of a plan or dashboard?
NO! It's a view-only seat which provides you with just viewing and commenting functionalities. The platform will not allow you to enable edit access to a viewer role, and only if you upgrade their role to a collaborator, or manager, or admin, will it be possible to give them edit access or ownership to a plan, dashboard, or report!
How about permissions with respect to integrations?
You'll need to have edit access to the plan you want to connect integrations to!
Are we restricting some access to edit Plan Settings?
Yes! You’ll need edit access to the plan to change the plan settings.
Who can set the permissions of a plan, dashboard or report?
Anyone with edit access of the plan can set the permissions of a plan, dashboard or report. However, the plan, dashboard and report owner will always retain ownership and can’t have their access removed.
Why am I unable to change permissions of collaborators in plans?
Owners and Collaborators are the people working on the outcomes in a plan. These people retain rights to edit all contents of the plan. In the case that you want to restrict these people from editing the parts of the plan, it’s an ideal time to break the plan down into smaller parts, or give them "can view" access manually!
What happens when someone’s role is changed from Admin to Manager or Contributor?
When a user's role is changed to Manager or Contributor, they'll lose edit access to any plans if they don’t meet any of the following criteria:
- have the workspace setting on the plan/dashboard/report set to View.
- they're not an owner or collaborator on an entity on the plan (*applies to plans only*).
- they haven’t been manually assigned access to the plan/dashboard/report.
Can we revoke edit permissions of an Admin?
No! Admins have an overriding access permissions and will always retain edit permissions!
Can I remove myself from the access to a plan or dashboard?
No, only admins or the anyone else with edit permissions can revoke your access!